On This Day in History

It’s so hard to believe one year ago today we pulled into a little In N’ Out in Carmel Mountain and started our lives in San Diego.

FYI: You know you’re smack dab in the middle of God’s will when you’re adventure starts with In N’ Out.

The last year has changed us without a doubt. The truth is, it’s brought many tears and fears along with arguments and challenges, not just lazy days at the beach. It’s so easy to use the internets to make an adventure look romantic all the time, but the truth is adventures are pretty scary. It seems adventures are much more sci-fi–you know, with aliens and horror around every corner.

Yes, a lot of things have gone better than we could have imagined and we’ve had some amazing times. With friends, family, the ocean, good food and hard cider, and of course the fun of having a pup around. Not to mention, how quickly we found amazing jobs, a home, and how God has shown unusual favor in so many ways, including James’ early promotion at work. I still feel the need to be honest about some of the other times.

Up in the mountains for some Julian Apple Pie!
Ah…tanks and shorts in the mountains in October!

If you want to go on a grand adventure and hope to find fulfillment and “success” at the end of it, I think I have to warn you. It’s going to suck sometimes. You’re going to feel like you can’t get there. Sometimes it feels like there is an anvil sitting on your chest and you can’t inhale.

I think Donald Miller tried to warn me. He decided to ride his bike from the Pacific to the Atlantic for charity and in his book about it he said most of the time on the road he was convinced the Atlantic wasn’t actually out there. I think I understand it now. It feels hopeless, when the thing you’re aching for doesn’t seem to even exist. Hopelessness can kill.

When we left New Jersey one year ago, James told me we were climbing Everest.

Photo Credit: Creative Commons – ilkerender

He said it was going to be hard and most of the time it would seem impossible, but–no matter what–we’re not going to give up. We would see the view from the top.

He was right, even though it was figurative, he was right. It’s hard. A lot of times I want to give up. Sometimes I think it would be worth it to go back and just enjoy the view from the bottom instead of the top. Sometimes, when I don’t think I can take anymore, I’ll ask James to tell me what it’ll look like at the top.

He tells me our relationship will be strong. We’ll know without a doubt how much God loves us. We’ll be fulfilled in our lives/careers/whatever-you-want-to-call-it. God will provide everything our family needs. We’ll have a home to welcome others and offer them some encouragement on their seemingly impossible journeys. We’ll give hope to others. We’ll have friends at the top too, who understand the fight, the challenge, the courage, and the victory.

Now, coming as far as we have, I don’t expect the journey will end in this life. I’m sure every time we summit, we’ll turn around to enjoy the view, then turn back around and find another mountain top.

I’ve been on a song-lyric-kick lately, so here’s one that always brings us a smile:

There are way too many love songs
And I think they’ve got it all wrong
Cause life is not the mountain tops
It’s the walking in between
And I like you walking next to me

It reminds me even though there will always be another mountain to climb, the meaningful parts of my life really are the ups and downs along the way.

On This Day in History

Leave a Reply

